The Big Country Victim Services consists of Board of Directors, full time Program Coordinator, RCMP Liaisons and a team of dedicated volunteer advocates.

Volunteer support is essential to our Association to ensure victims receive support and assistance. Our volunteer Board of Directors provides program governance, while volunteer advocates play a front-line role, directly interacting with victims, police and other agencies.

Advocates are required to completed an extensive training program; obtain an enhanced security clearance from the RCMP; successfully complete interviews with program staff and the RCMP; complete an Alberta government on-line course; and are required to signed a one year contract with our program.

The training advocates complete helps to provide them with the skills necessary to participate in this important and satisfying role.

As of 2012 the membership of the Board of Directors for the Association is as follows:

  • President - Peter Gruber
  • Vice President - Mary Collins
  • Treasurer - Valerie Toft
  • Secretary - Pauline McMullin-Langille
  • Director - Don Howard
  • Director - Robinlee Scott
  • Director - Lois Bedwell
  • Director - Charles Girard
  • Honorary Director  - Vivian Bernard
  • Staff Sgt. - Art Hopkins, Drumheller
  • Sgt. - Mark Fitzgerald, Hanna
  • Cpl. - Cate Dickman, Oyen

For more information on becoming a Big Country Victim Services volunteer, please contact us.